Explore All Topics

2023 California tax deadline and extension: What you need to know

4 min read

4 min read

August 14, 2023

Winter storms brought record snowfall and widespread flooding throughout California in the early part of this year. As a result of the disaster, the IRS extended the tax deadline in 2023 for California to give residents affected by the storms more time to file and pay their 2022 taxes.

If you’ve heard the news, but wasn’t sure what applies to your situation, don’t fret. We’re here to outline which counties are affected, what the important dates are, and tips for anyone claiming a loss related to the disaster. And when you’re ready to file, we’re here for you!

California tax deadline 2023

Tax deadlines for federal taxes usually follow a set schedule. In the event of disaster, your federal tax deadline may be extended. As long as your address is in one of the disaster area locations, you get the extra time automatically without having to request it.

When are taxes due in California for taxpayers in areas declared a federal disaster?

The tax deadline in California is Oct. 16, 2023, if you lived in a federally declared disaster area included in at least one of three different declarations. This deadline applies to filing and paying your taxes.

Exception: Two counties, Madoc and Shasta, were included in a later declaration and have a due date of August 15, 2023.

In addition to the California tax extension, you may be able to claim a disaster loss on your taxes if your property was damaged due to the storms. Check out the disaster loss information lower on this page for additional details.

Not sure if your county was included in the disaster declaration? See the list directly below.

When are taxes due in California for taxpayers in areas that were not declared a federal disaster?

The tax deadline was April 18, 2023, for those who live in California counties that were not declared a federal disaster. Only one county, Lassen, falls in this category.

California counties with a federal disaster declaration in 2023

The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) declared the following counties a federal disaster area: Alameda, Alpine, Amador, Butte, Calaveras, Colusa, Contra Costa, Del Norte, El Dorado, Fresno, Glenn, Humboldt, Inyo, Los Angeles, Madera, Madoc (August 15 deadline), Marin, Mariposa, Mendocino, Merced, Monterey, Napa, Nevada, Placer, Sacramento, San Benito, San Joaquin, San Luis Obispo, San Mateo, Santa Barbara, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, San Diego, San Francisco, Shasta (August 15 deadline) Siskiyou, Solano, Sonoma, Stanislaus, Sutter, Tehama, Trinity, Tulare, Tuolumne, Ventura, and Yolo.

California counties without a federal disaster declaration in 2023

Nearly all California counties were included in one of four FEMA disaster declarations and will receive a California tax extension in 2023.

The exception is for Lassen County.

If your address is in Lassen County, your tax filing deadline was April 18, 2023 – unless you’ve requested an extension.

If your address is in Madoc or Shasta County you can request an extension to Oct. 16, 2023 if you can’t complete your return by August 15.

Keep in mind, when you request an extension, it only gives you more time to file your taxes — it does not give you more time to pay. That said, if you live in Lassen County, your tax payment was due on April 18, 2023. If you live in Madoc or Shasta County and request and extension to Oct. 16, your payment is due August 15, 2023.

Need to quickly file and pay your taxes?

 H&R Block can help!  Make an appointment with a tax pro in your area or you can use H&R Block Online to complete your taxes.

California tax extension and disaster information

An extension on your taxes can be a great help when you’re dealing with the stress of experiencing property damage from a major storm. The extra time can allow you to focus on urgent matters such as filing insurance claims or repairing property.

If you’ve experienced a loss due to the storms, here’s the good news: You have the option to claim a disaster loss on your 2022 or 2023 taxes as long as you live in one of the federally declared disaster areas.

Timing note: If you plan to claim a disaster loss on your 2022 taxes, you may need additional time for paperwork.  Claiming a loss can involve getting appraisals, insurance claims and other activities to determine the value of your property. Knowing that may take some time, it’s a good idea to start ahead of the 2023 California tax deadline of Oct. 16. 

For more information, check out our post on disaster tax relief.

Get tax help from H&R Block

From DIY online tax filing to IRL expert tax pro help, H&R Block has you covered.

Was this topic helpful?